You are here

News and Updates

Jacob Litke

PhD Student Jake Litke Creates Perfect Storm for RNA Aptamer Expression

TPCB student Jacob Litke and Prof. Samie Jaffrey at Weill Cornell have developed a system that allows highly efficient expression of circular RNA aptamers that are resistant to exonucleases. Publishing in Nature Biotechnology, they showed that their “Tornado” expression system is some 200 times more efficient than previously reported systems, opening the door to broad applications of circular RNA aptamers to probe cellular processes.

The 35th duVigneaud Symposium, featuring posters and talks from our PhD students, was a huge success.

Here is a picture of the first year students who won prizes for their posters, Daniel Worroll and Svena Verma.

Lisa Standke

Lisa Standke, a PhD student in Derek Tan’s lab, wrote an article for Science Journal for Kids

Lisa Standke, a PhD student in Derek Tan’s lab,  wrote an article for Science Journal for Kids-the goal is to adapt current research articles into age-appropriate language for K-12 readers.

Very nice, Lisa.   Here is the link:...
pharmacology in new york

Weill Cornell - 9th in the national rankings of Best Medical Schools

pharmacology in new york, weill cornell

Stealth Biotherapeutics, the company founded by Dr. Hazel Szeto

On February 15, 2019, Stealth Biotherapeutics, the company founded by Dr. Hazel Szeto, a WCM Pharmacology professor, ~ 12 years ago, priced its IPO today of 6.5M ADSs, each representing 12 ordinary shares of Stealth, at a price of $12.00/ADS, for expected gross proceeds of $78M.

Lissett Checo and colleagues

November 13, 2018

Ms. Lissett Checo, center, was honored by the medical college for 25 years of outstanding service in the Pharmacology Department administration! 

November 10, 2018

Drs. Zippin, Buck, and Levin publish a groundbreaking study on how skin color is established.

To read the article, click here.

Women Rock Stars poster

October 22, 2018

Dr. Lorraine Gudas is named as one of the top women "rock stars" of science at the annual meeting of the European Society of Medical Oncology. 

October 10, 2018

Dr. Jaffrey Co-Founds a New Biotech Company.

To read more, click here.

August 31, 2018

Dr. Gudas to Speak at the Japanese Pharmacological Society Annual Meeting in Osaka, Japan.

Dr. Gudas was selected by ASPET to give a major research talk at this meeting in the spring of 2019.

August 30, 2018

Dr. Quintero's Research is Published!

Dr. Cynthia Quintero, PhD student mentored by Drs. Gudas and Luo, published her research on CARM1! Here is the link: click here.

April 26, 2018

Dr. Yueming Li was chosen as the recipient of the Weill Cornell Graduate School Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring Award for the value of his teaching and mentoring of WCGS students. Dr. Li was nominated by, Drs. Derek Tan, David Scheinberg, Lisa Placanica and Natalya Gertsik and will be presented this award at the Weill Cornell Graduate School Convocation Ceremony on Wednesday, May 30, at 10 a.m. in Uris Auditorium. Congratulations Dr. Li!

Dr. Jaffrey in lab

April 18, 2018

Pathway to Stop Diabetes Visionary Award Recipient

Weill Cornell Faculty member, Dr. Samie R. Jaffrey has received the Pathway Visionary Award for his basic research project titled, "Rewiring Cellular Metabolic Networks in Diabetes." Dr. Jaffrey is developing a new type of gene therapy that will allow liver cells to "sense" metabolic abnormalities that occur in diabetes and then stimulate the production of proteins that would correct liver function.

Lorraine Gudas, Emanuela Folco, David Hajjar, & Randi Silver

April 12, 2018

Scientists from the Giovanni Lorenzino Medical Foundation met with Weill Cornell faculty. 

Pictured at lunch are: Lorraine Gudas, Emanuela Folco, David Hajjar, & Randi Silver. In the second picture are Roberto Levi, Guido Rasi, & Sergio Pecorelli. Dr. Rasi is the Executive Director of the European Medical Agency and he also gave a lecture titled: Role of Regulatory Agencies in the Development of Innovative Drugs.


April 4, 2018

Tom Rossetti won the first year poster prize in the 38th annual Vincent du Vigneaud Research Symposium from his work in Dr. Kristen Pleil’s lab.

March 27, 2018

Chuck Pratt, a graduate student in the lab of Dr. Grimm, has a new publication, titled: Nanoparticles as multimodal photon transducers of ionizing radiation, out in Nature Nanotechnology.

Weill Cornell Medicine Pharmacology 1300 York Avenue,
Room E-409
New York, NY 10021 Phone: (212) 746-6250 Fax: (212) 746-8835